Hello birth control!

Posted: May 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I know this is a topic that many are not comfortable talking about, but I’m not one of those people. Maybe if we talked more about it there would be less “accident children” and two kids is enough for me, at least for a few years! So it was time to get some birth control. I am horrible at remembering to take a pill, and not a fan of shots, so I went the IUD route.  The Mirena was my pick, and so far Im very happy with it. It was inserted yesterday, six weeks after having my daughter, the doctor said they usually wait until your period returns, but since I am still breastfeeding and because after having my son I only had one period and was pregnant again, the doctor agreed to give me the IUD before my period returned.

It is a very small device that is inserted into the uterus.  Having it put it was a little uncomfortable, but not much more than a pap. I experienced a little cramping and spotting for a few hours after leaving the office, but nothing major.

My ob gyn told me that I most likely will not have a period with the IUD, especially since I had it put in before my period returned.  It can stay in for up to five years, and if we do decide to have more children we will not have to wait after having it removed to start trying.

 

Leave a Reply

